Parish Government



Parish Council



Homeland Security






Public Works



Parks and Recreation



Sewerage District #1



Iberia Groups Coordinate for Major Grant
9/9/2010  Administration

Iberia Parish President Ernest Freyou Announces "Iberia Groups Coordinate for Major Grant" ...

NEW IBERIA, LA – Iberia Parish President Ernest Freyou announces that Iberia Parish Government, Iberia Industrial Development Foundation, Greater Iberia Chamber of Commerce, Iberia Airport Authority and Iberia Economic Development Authority have collaborated to coordinate the development of an application for a major infrastructure- related grant. Freyou states: “This grant, if awarded, will open up a whole avenue of opportunities for economic development at the Acadiana Regional Airport and along the Hwy 90 corridor. My thanks go out to the team who came together to help prepare this grant, Janet Faulk (Chamber of Commerce CEO), Mike Tarantino (President and CEO of IDF and IEDA), Jason Devilier (Acadiana Regional Airport Director), Sally Angers (Chief Administrative Officer of Iberia Parish Government) and Kevin Hagerich (Iberia Parish Government Public Works Director). This is a prime example of what happens when different elements of the community work together for the progression of Iberia Parish. The possibilities are endless if we all work together.”

The US Department of Transportation accepted applications for a competitive grant entitled “Grants for Transportation Investment Generating Economic Recovery” or “TIGER Discretionary Grants”. The purpose of the TIGER Grant program is to preserve and create jobs, promote economic recovery and invest in transportation infrastructure that will provide long term economic benefits and better intermodal connectivity.

The grant application, which can be viewed on all of the agencies websites, was prepared and submitted by Janet Faulk, President and CEO of the Greater Iberia Chamber of Commerce. The focus of the funding agency enhanced surface transportation with intermodal connectivity which leads to job creation and economic development. “The Chamber is pleased to work with Iberia Parish Government and partner agencies in an effort to bring new funding for transportation infrastructure to the community. Infrastructure improvement is a Chamber priority.” said Janet Faulk.

"Iberia is an intermodal Parish and the best way to keep our economy strong is through investment in our infrastructure. This team effort is critical to helping Iberia's businesses grow and prosper,” said Mike Tarantino, President and CEO of Iberia Industrial Development Foundation.

“This grant is truly a team effort of the Iberia Parish Community and Economic Development efforts. The intermodal infrastructure improvements that will result from this funding will place Iberia Parish in a leadership position for economic development,” stated Jason Devilier, ARA Director.

Projects will be selected by USDOT as early as mid September.

Press Release

Application for Grant

For more information contact:  

Iberia Parish President M. Larry Richard would like to announce the closure of Back Road Bridge
JOB Open: Iberia Parish Government is announcing an opening for an part time Animal control Officer
Iberia Parish President M. Larry Richard would like to announce the reopening of Briarwood Road Bridge
Iberia Parish President M. Larry Richard announces that effective immediately
Iberia Parish President has an announcement concerning waste connection
Parish Council
Dist. 1 “Tommy” Pollard, Sr. Dist. 2 Michael R. Landry
Dist. 3 Thomas J. Landry Dist. 4 Lloyd Brown
Dist. 5 Warren P. Gachassin, Jr. Dist. 6 Natalie Broussard
Dist. 7 Paul Landry Dist. 8 Ricky J. Gonsoulin
Dist. 9 Joel J. Dugas Dist. 10 Eugene A. Olivier, Sr.
Dist. 11 Brian P. Napier Dist. 12 Berwick Francis, Jr.
Dist. 13 Marty Trahan Dist. 14 Chad Maturin
Acadiana Regional Airport
Animal Control
County Agent/LSU AG
Fire District No.1
Health Unit
Homeland Security/E-911
Housing - Section 8
Mosquito Control
Parks & Recreation
Permit Department
Planning and Zoning
Public Works Department
Registrar of Voters
Sewerage District No. 1
Waterworks District 3

©2009 - 2016  All Rights Reserved

site powered by