Iberia Parish News:

Courthouse Building
300 Iberia Street, Suite 400
New Iberia, LA 70560-4543

Phone: 337-365-8246

Iberia Parish Voters to Consider Revised Home Rule Charter at October 12, 2019 Election -  8/2/2019

For more information contact: Brenda P. Bergeron, Clerk


The voters of Iberia Parish will be considering a proposed revised Iberia Parish Home Rule Charter for the Parish of Iberia at the October 12, 2019 election. The revised Charter contains various changes as recommended by the Iberia Parish Home Rule Charter Ad-Hoc Committee and the Executive Committee of the Iberia Parish Council. A vote for the recommended changes will update the existing Charter to the revised Charter. A vote against the recommended changes will make no changes to the existing Charter.

The Iberia Parish Council established the Ad-Hoc Committee to review and make recommendations for changes to the Charter. The Committee members consisted of:

Iberia Parish Government Committee Members

Natalie Broussard, District 6 Councilman

Ricky J. Gonsoulin, District 8 Councilman

Joel J. Dugas, District 9 Councilman

Eugene A. Olivier, Sr., District 10 Councilman

M. Larry Richard, Parish President

General Public Committee Members

Troy Comeaux

Korey Kimball

David Merrill

Jonathan Norris

The Iberia Parish Council considered their recommendations of the revised Charter at their April 24, 2019 Regular Meeting and adopted Ordinance No. 2019-04-4980 to propose the changes to the voters of Iberia Parish for approval of the revised Charter. This revised Charter, which will be presented to the voters on the October 12, 2019 ballot, is available for review below.

Should you have any questions regarding the revised Charter, please contact your Parish Councilman, the Clerk of the Council, or the Parish President as follows:

Francis “Tommy” Pollard, Sr., District 1 - district1@iberiagov.net

Michael R. Landry, District 2 - district2@iberiagov.net

Thomas J. Landry, District 3 - district3@iberiagov.net

Lloyd Brown, District 4- district4@iberiagov.net

Warren P. Gachassin, Jr., District 5 -district5@iberiagov.net

Natalie Broussard, District 6 - district6@iberiagov.net

Paul G. Landry, District 7 - district7@iberiagov.net

Ricky J. Gonsoulin, District 8 -district8@iberiagov.net

Joel J. Dugas, District 9 - district9@iberiagov.net

Eugene A. Olivier, Sr., District 10 - district10@iberiagov.net

Brian P. Napier, District 11 - district11@iberiagov.net

Berwick Francis, Jr., District 12 - district12@iberiagov.net

Marty Trahan, District 13 - district13@iberiagov.net

Chad Maturin, District 14 - district14@iberiagov.net

Brenda P. Bergeron, Clerk -bbergeron@iberiagov.net

M. Larry Richard, President - lrichard@iberiagov.net

Proposed Revised Iberia Parish Home Rule Charter

Current Home Rule Charter

Proposed Revised Iberia Parish Home Rule Charter (redline version)

©2009 - 2023  All Rights Reserved